lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

D-Day SURGERY


So….. I had my gallbladder taken out yesterday…

11:00 am registration
Was feeling very extremely anxious. Husband was not a real help but he was trying. He kept trying to distract me and I wasn’t one for it. I would rather sit there and worry to death than try distraction. I closed my eyes and tried not to concentrate on the hustle and bustle of the waiting room. I opened my eyes. Husband was just sitting there staring at me. I told him to get lost.

12:30 pm – I was called in to change into the gown and these “disposable” panties which were like a mesh underwear. YUCK. I put all my personal belongings into a bag and they put it in a locker.

12:45 pm – Went into this holding place with a nice reclining chair. Nurse came in to take my blood pressure and all that stuff. Hubby was still with me.

1:00 pm – Nurse tells me to go into the O.R. waiting room. What, another waiting room? Said my byebye’s to hubby who was starving at this point. (I didn’t know he could have came with me also, but whatever)

1:00 – 1:45 pm – sat in the waiting room. Everyone there was really old. There was the cutest old couple in front of me. The wife was going into surgery. The husband had been fasting with her since the day before (so she wouldn’t feel alone). As soon as they called her in, he jumped up for joy and went to the cafeteria to get food.

1:45 pm – another nurse came to get me and walked me to the Operating Room. She asked the routine questions, “Did you drink”, “Do you wear dentures”. Um No.

1:50 pm – Saw my surgeon. Did the meet and greet. Lied down on the cold sterile table. Anesthesiologist popped up beside me and started to find the vein to put the needle in. I said “Oh, are you putting me to sleep now?” She said “Why do you need to be somewhere else?”

1:51 pm – Nurse puts oxygen mask on…… that’s all I remember.

3:30 pm – Felt like a movie. Opened my eyes, saw a blur.
Nurse: “Are you in pain?”.
Me: I shook my head No
5 minutes later Nurse says: “Are you in pain do you need more morphine?”.
I nodded a Yes
Nurse: “Then why didn’t you say so in the beginning?!”
Me thinking: “Cause I’m drugged up and bloody incoherent maybe?!”

4:30 pm – Was wheeled somewhere. Asked someone to go get hubby. I was very incoherent. They gave me lots of meds.

6:00 pm – I had to move to a different holding area. They put me in a wheelchair. IMMEDIATE NAUSEA. Nurse gave me gravol through the IV. Worked in 10 seconds and fell fast asleep.

7:30 pm – Nurse was explaining all sorts of stuff to me, I couldn’t understand a damned word she said. I said can you please explain to my husband who just took a step out. He finally came back and she told him what to do.

8:00 pm – we were finally kicked out and sent home. I was so incredibly tired, I went straight to the couch and lied down.

8:30 pm – hubby made some chicken noodle soup. I drank about half a bowl. Needed help to use the bathroom as I couldn’t walk.

9:00 pm – fell asleep until 8:30 the next morning.

Single Post Navigation

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

