lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

Hemp Hearts + Beyond


As my Lyme Buddy and I are emailing back and forth on what we can and cannot eat, it became quite apparent that our lives will be somewhat depressing in the food realm of things. “No Pain No Gain!” she kept reminding me. Back in August of last year, I had already given up the gluten thing, so had already scaled back my food. I had cut back all red meat, and dairy. It wasn’t that hard for me to scale back even more. But I was half-heartedly into the gluten free, mostly because I wasn’t in the research frame of mind. But now I really have no choice. Either I shape up with the eating habits or I don’t and be susceptible to yeast forming in my system, then the possibility of OMG! C.Diff! Then to the hospital, then who knows what else unmentionable things.

So, to get back to my story, my friend says, “Hey, we can have Hemp Hearts to snack on.” I’m like “huh?, what are those.” Then I went to the health food store and said to hubby, “Go find me these hemp hearts.” He’s like “Huh? what are those.”

Case in point; so much new food to learn and we don’t even know a fraction of it. It’s very over whelming, but one step at a time. She even convinced me to do bone broth. As I had grown up with the bone broth, it wasn’t new to me, so I kind of knew what it was. But still had to get my mom to buy me the bones and still show me how to do it. I use to just come home to the tasty smelling bone broth soup my grandma use to cook.

Anyway, back to the hemp hearts. They are packed with protein, omegas and fibre. So I did exactly as it said, Throw it in some cereal or yogurt.

Now that my breakfast of champions no longer consist of beans, pancakes, maple syrup, bacon, hashbrowns, ketchup and the lot, it is now most likely hot cereal. Yes, just hot cereal. For this easy recipe, it’s as follows:

♥ 1 Cup of Almond Milk
♥ 2 tbsp of Bob’s Red Mill Cereal
♥ 2 tsp of hemp hearts
♥ 1 tsp of flax seed (optional)

Directions: Bring 1 cup of Almond Milk to a boil. Add 2 tbsp of cereal into boiling water and stir for about 8 minutes, reducing to medium. Pour into your favorite bowl and sprinkle hemp hearts into the cereal.

Yogurt: Sprinkle some hemp hearts into your low sugar free, plain yogurt. (I say low sugar because it is near impossible to find any yogurt that is sugar free. Yogurt has sugar due to the milk that is in it. So the lowest one I found had about 5 grams of sugar in it). I also added about a tablespoon of Kefir to the mix. This kind of tasted a bit sour to me, something I’m really not use to, so I might need to experiment. If you know of anything better, please comment!

Single Post Navigation

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

