lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

Kombucha (Part 1)


When my Lyme Buddy mentioned “Kombucha” in one of our chats, I was like “What in the living earth is that?”

As always, I do my research. I went to the grocery store and in their “Green Aisle”, I found a brand of Kombucha Tea selling for about $4.50 a bottle. I saw little things swimming in it and I’m like UM NO THANKS.

I then went to the local health food store and saw the Yogi Green Tea Kombucha and purchased a box of these. I’ll tell you it was so good and tasty, I finished that box in a few days. I must have had like 5 of them a day.

Back to researching, I knew that you could make Kombucha yourself at a fraction of the cost. The authentic kind. I started to watch YouTube video’s on others making this with a mother culture. What is a mother culture? Well if you take a look at that picture, it’s that thing at the bottom. It’s really kind of gross. It looks like something out of Alien. Infact, my mom is so disturbed by it, she won’t go near the jar.

So where does one get this mother culture? From a friend. Seeing that I have no friends who even know the word Kombucha, I was on the hunt as to where I can find this thing.

I eventually came across a company called Cultures for Health. They sell “dehydrated” cultures. Meaning they ship it to you flat and dry. You “re-activate” the culture. Then in about 21 days of brewing, you have your mother culture. With that mother culture, you are ready to make your first batch of Kombucha.

What’s all the hype about Kombucha?
Kombucha has been drunk for thousands of years. At first I was a little hesitant because of the amount of white sugar that you need in the recipe. But by the time the 21 days of brewing is over, that sugar is literally gone. The result is a fermented drink with healing properties such as Probiotics (healthy bacteria), liver detox, improves digestion and a whole whack of other stuff.

The picture I took of my Kombucha is about 1 week into re-hydration. As you can see the mother culture is expanding a little. I took a whiff of it this morning and it smelled like really stinky feet. My hubby said it smelled like Apple Cider Vinegar.

So after this process, I will be ready to make my first batch. That will be my Kombucha (Part 2) post.

Step 1: How to Re-activate a Dehydrated Kombucha Culture

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Kombucha (Part 1)

  1. Love your website and I find it is helping me in getting the proper diagnosis myself. I am on a steep learning curve here and i am a little confused so I need to ask this simple question. and maybe you can clarify it. If Kombucha is fermented how is this beneficial if you are trying to rid your body of candida? Doesn’t Kombucha cancel out the Flagyl?
    thanks

    • Hi Nina,

      If you google “Kombucha and Lyme” you will find many answers. Kombucha is full of probiotics. I was also skeptical at first because of the sugar and yeast and thought wouldn’t that be contradictory to the Lyme diet. But by the time the Kombucha is finished brewing the sugar is gone…

    • Thank you, I’ll check it out.
      -Nina

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

