lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

Ghee Butter


Ghee is pure butterfat left over after the milk solids and water are removed from butter. Originating in India, it is considered to be a healthier alternative to butter. It tastes better; it has a higher smoke point and is well tolerated by those who are lactose intolerant.

Here’s how I made it:

  1. I bought organic unsalted butter from my local grocery store. If you can, try to buy from grass-fed cows.
  2. Put the butter into an oven safe dish
  3. Pre-heat oven to 250 degrees F. Set the timer for 45 minutes.
  4. Skim the top and remove the foam/bubbles
  5. The milk solids will sink to the bottom. Scoop out the liquid part and put in a mason jar.
  6. Store in the refrigerator. (Just in case since there may have been small traces of milk solids that were transferred to the jar)
  7. Voila!

So what prompted me to make this? I wanted to try out this recipe I got from my Nom Nom Paleo iPad App called Spicy Tuna Cakes. I tried to find this recipe on her site, however I think it’s only available on her iPad app. I don’t want to copy it here incase their are copyrights to it, so if you have an iPad, you will have to buy the app. And it’s well worth the $4.99! (I am not paid to endorse this). This recipe does call for Ghee Butter, so hence the reason. It also includes Yams, Tuna, Jalapeno Pepper, lemon zest, scallions and an egg.

So here’s how mine turned out. I served it for breakfast to my fam this morning. YUM!

Single Post Navigation

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

