lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

And this is why the hermit life seems better.


If I were a bug in an altar life, I’m pretty sure that I would be the most popular girl in Bug Highschool. It’s like Pepé Le Pew’s obsession with the female skunk. I just feel so loved.

After my Victoria Day post here, I was kind of scared that history might repeat itself since I haven’t had good luck on long weekends. Well just the opposite, this Canada’s Day long weekend was fantastic. We did many fun activities. The majority of it involved the outdoors, something that is not characteristic of in my nature. We took the little guy for a family bike ride in our neighbourhood trail. After that, we hung out with our neighbours on the porch for about 3 hours. After that, we had a firepit going in the backyard until midnight.

I often now get asked “Are you paranoid about being outside?”. I reply, “Um ya, If you think I wasn’t an outdoors person before, I don’t even know what you would call me now.” Well I was a bit adventurous this weekend. Why? Because I’m on a crapload of meds and I think I got myself covered right now should I even get bit. It’s like an insurance policy. Those things will be dead the minute they reach my body.

Well my outdoorsy weekend went just as predicted. It’s safe to say I got murdered. The morning after the festivities, I woke up with about 15 bites all over my body. I won’t even tell u what parts of the body these pictures were taken from. And guess what, I bought the Off Spray with 35% Deet on it and most likely used the entire bottle in one sitting.

I ask Husband if he got any bites over the weekend. His response was “Yes, but I can control my scratching”. I’m like “YA. LIAR.” Turns out he only got one bite on his hand. ONE. So how was it that I got about 15 bites of which about 4 of them were on my butt? How did those suckers get through a 100% cotton jersey yoga capris and then penetrate through yet another layer of underwear? How? Would this explain why I have Lyme?

So I did some research (and I’m surprised I’ve never even looked this up.) Why. Why do bugs want a relationship with me. It’s not a mutual love affair here. Ever since I was little, I’ve battled these incessant bites. Now, when we are out enjoying some times outdoors, Husband and others sit there with their beers while I’m the only one swatting my head like some crazy lunatic.

So I found this site that explains it. “A study in Nature (Wood and Dore, 1972) found that mosquitoes were more likely to bite people with type O blood than other potential victims, while people with type A got the fewest bites. A follow-up experiment examined whether this had anything to do with the fact that some people secrete saccharides — sugarlike chemicals related to blood type — through their skin.” If you read on, it mentions Malaria. This is very interesting because my LLMD said to me that there was a study done in Africa or something where they had 2 tents. One with people that had Malaria and one with people that didn’t. Guess where the mosquitoes flocked to. The tent with the Malaria patients. I remember in highschool biology we tested what blood types we were. I remember mine being O+. I could be wrong so I may go and check this with Dr. Handsome Chest Hairs. More for curiosity sake.

While intermittently scratching my skin off, the latter half of my weekend included cheating. No not with another person, but with food. I had a 98% Lyme symptom free weekend which was glorious. I didn’t even think of lyme except for the constant reminders of the medication ingestion and the idiotic mosquitoes. I gorged on some Magnum popsicles (seriously I was intending to take 2 bites, but before I knew it, the whole popsicle was gone), we had more takeout food than normal (although I did make healthy choices), but  I had lots of gluten items, nachos with cheese, Doritos, fries with gravy! I even went out into the sun for a long period of time with no burning (doxy). Maybe this was my lucky weekend.

The weekend ended with a visit from my cousin. As we looked over some pictures she had taken last year when she visited her an aunt who wasn’t doing too well, I asked “Oh how is she doing now?” As those words exited my mouth, I had a sinking feeling that I just stuck my mosquito ridden foot in it. And then my cousin confirmed it with her response. “Um she died? Remember?!” Needless to say, I was embarrassed beyond belief. I was like “OMG I knew that!! See this is what I have to deal with! My memory is totally screwed!!” I’m glad she understood, she thought it was the result of my medication. I said, um no, it’s the Lyme. Nobody makes a forgetful mistake like that.

Other Matters:

  • I received an email from Elizabeth May’s office thanking me for my story and that I would remain anonymous as requested.
  • I went to the grocery store and somehow navigated over to the frozen aisle and my eyes landed on the Magnum Popsicle bars that just happened to be on sale. There’s a reason why they are $6.49 for box of 4. I hesitated for about 5 seconds but apparently my hand had a mind of its own and before I knew it, we were at the check out bagging it.
  • I weighed in at 105. That’s about 4 pounds up. YAY.

To end this post, there are many scriptures on Healing. I will be ending my posts with them.
Behold, I will bring it health and healing; I will heal them and reveal to them the abundance of peace and truth. Jeremiah 33:6

Single Post Navigation

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

