lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

We are all the Woman with the Issue of Blood


On Sunday this past weekend, I was feeling off again, but I wasn’t going to let that stop me from going to Church. Husband was out of town on a business trip (and we had out of town guests staying with us) and sometimes it’s hard for me to get myself out with 5 year old to our church half an hour away. But I did. I didn’t even know what our Pastor was going to preach on. It’s a rather large church, about 2500-3000 people. They are very organized, and normally have the topics posted on their site or on the screens.

5 year old had a really late night due to out of town guests and he was really cranky. He started drawing on the hymn book and I just had about enough, so I took him to Sunday School. I sat back down in the pew and the topic of discussion: Healing.

I’m like GET OUT. So the Pastor’s sermon was on the Woman with the Issue of Blood.

Mark 5:24-34
So Jesus went with him. A large crowd followed and pressed around him. And a woman was there who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years. She had suffered a great deal under the care of many doctors and had spent all she had, yet instead of getting better she grew worse. When she heard about Jesus, she came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak, because she thought, “If I just touch his clothes, I will be healed.” Immediately her bleeding stopped and she felt in her body that she was freed from her suffering. At once Jesus realized that power had gone out from him. He turned around in the crowd and asked, “Who touched my clothes?” “You see the people crowding against you,” his disciples answered, “and yet you can ask, ‘Who touched me?’ ”But Jesus kept looking around to see who had done it. Then the woman, knowing what had happened to her, came and fell at his feet and, trembling with fear, told him the whole truth. He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering.”

Does this sound at all familiar to you? We are all this woman. Her disease was painful, prolonged, and permanent. She was considered ceremonially uncleaned. For her, making contact with Jesus was far more important and she took a risk. She was already ostracized from her religious community as it says in Leviticus 15: 25-37 that any woman who has a discharge of blood on days other than her normal cycle are considered unclean. Imagine going through this for 12 years and not be allowed to participate in anything. She had suffered tremendously both physically and emotionally. Now when the Crimson Wave comes for us women, we are in despair for the 5-7 days. Can you imagine 12 straight years? Now can you also imagine not being allowed to participate in community activities, be with your husband, sit on furniture because you were considered unclean? This woman must have been a wreck.

BUT, the purity of her faith in God healed her. She thought, if only she can just touch his cloak, she will be healed. Our total health is more important than our physical health. We need to work on our emotional and spiritual healing just as much. This woman with the issue of blood had been alienated by countless of doctors, and finally heard of this celebrity healer. She didn’t care what people thought of her, but she waded through the crowd with one mission in mind, to touch His cloak. Jesus goes on to call her Daughter. How many times in the Bible have you heard Jesus calling someone daughter? Only one. This one. Can you imagine the healing that took place in her soul?

This passage always inspires me to keep persisting, and to keep my faith pure. Physicians aren’t the ones that will ultimately heal us. It is God who heals us. Whether by a miracle, or by guiding the physician, homeopath, naturopath, in the end, it is His will.


In other news this weekend, I can’t believe what I did on Saturday. Because Husband went away, I entertained our out of town best friends without feeling ill. Mind you I didn’t take any meds at all, I just couldn’t deal with the constant 1.5 hour interval popping of pills. The day was very long from about 10 am – 11 pm, we were outnumbered by Kids and we did lots of driving to far away places. Something I use to take for granted, but for now, this has been a huge step simply because it was just me and 5 year old, without me relying on Husband to take much of the slack. Anyway, we went to this little train station museum and the kids loved it. This is my little 5 year old enjoying the train ride.

Ok now off to Costco to returned that blasted Flagyl.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “We are all the Woman with the Issue of Blood

  1. I absolutely love the message you shared here; but the picture of your beautiful son at the end made my day!

  2. Pingback: If I Just Touch His Clothes, I Will Be Healed « bummyla

  3. Pingback: How does the story end? « Michael Wilson's Blog

  4. Pingback: How does the story end? | Quotes, thoughts and musings

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

