lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

Death.


I took this picture on our way up to the cottage this week. It’s a fitting picture for this post. Dark but with a ray of sunshine. Bittersweet.

About 2 weeks ago, Husband and I went to Chapters. Husband says to me, “Isn’t that Camille?” “It is! Let’s wait for her outside.” I replied. We haven’t seen Camille in over 15 years. We went outside and another 20 minutes pass by and she’s still in the line up inside. By the time she came outside, we felt awkward and kind of hid away as she came out and quickly went to her car. We missed the opportunity to say hi.

This past Tuesday, we got the news that Camille’s mother and husband were in a terrible car accident. Camille wasn’t in the car with them, however her mother had died and her husband and another passenger were seriously injured. We also grew up with her mother and remembered her as such a sweet and loving lady. We did end up seeing Camille again, however at the viewing for her mom in a funeral home.

On the car ride home, we started discussing death and the conversation ended up on another Pastor that we grew up with. I’m sure he was approaching 90+ years. We wondered how he was doing.

The next day, I read on facebook that this beloved Pastor had just died. On the very same day we were talking about him while driving in the car.

This made me believe that God was trying to tell me something. I’m not sure what. This brought back memories of 2 other instances in my life.

About 10 years ago, my best friend just got engaged. We were so ecstatic for her but we were so busy that we didn’t have time to get together. Finally after a month of back and forth, we all had dinner. We kept saying, “Finally! it’s about time!”. The next week, I get a frantic call from my best friend that her fiancé had collapsed. We spent the next 4 days in the hospital with him. He passed away from a sudden stroke.

About 4 years ago, Husband’s cousin found out that she had cancer. She was a vibrant lovely lady. Full of life. After 6 months of finding out she was sick, we made the 3 hour drive with our then 9 month old to see her. She was not the same as we remembered. She was very frail, very thin, after effects of the chemo, I wasn’t even sure if she could comprehend what we were saying let alone recognize us. We went to her bedroom, held her hands, and just sat there, holding back tears. I knew she knew us. I could tell from the look in her eyes. The nurse motioned us to go back downstairs.

Then we heard this commotion. People were running upstairs. I had this bad sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach. 30 minutes later, her sister came down to tell us she had passed.

She waited for us to finally see her.

So I can say that 4 times in my life, I was affected closely by death, not including my own. I hear lots of questions “Why? Why did this happen?, Why would God do this?”. My Husband says to me constantly “When it’s your time, it’s your time”. This often got me scared.

But I am different now. I am not scared anymore. I know my heart belongs to Jesus. Does your heart belong to Jesus? What will happen to you when you die? When I know the deceased loves Jesus, I know they are in a better place. Better than here. So shouldn’t we be happy for them? Shouldn’t we be rejoicing? Yes we will miss them terribly in our own lives, but I’m sure they are looking down at us saying “Y’all won’t believe what we are doing up here!”

Know that your heart belongs to Jesus. Ask Him to be in your life now! I am no preacher, believe me, but knowing that Jesus is there with me every step makes living a whole lot better. Makes dealing with ANYTHING a whole lot better!

I found this sinner’s prayer. I first said this when I was 12 years old. Would you read it with me?

Heavenly Father, have mercy on me, a sinner. I believe in you and that your word is true. I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of the living God and that he died on the cross so that I may now have forgiveness for my sins and eternal life. I know that without you in my heart my life is meaningless.

I believe in my heart that you, Lord God, raised Him from the dead. Please Jesus forgive me, for every sin I have ever committed or done in my heart, please Lord Jesus forgive me and come into my heart as my personal Lord and Savior today. I need you to be my Father and my friend.

I give you my life and ask you to take full control from this moment on; I pray this in the name of Jesus Christ.” Amen.

Keep walking in faith. Keep reading the Bible. Keep doing your daily devotionals. Keep praying. Your life will never be the same.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Death.

  1. Wonderfully put! To God be the glory in all circumstances of our life, in good times and bad, sickness and health. There is certainly an emotional release, and relief, when we realize that it is all about Him, and not us. And if we walk with Him every step of the way, He does give us the strength to persevere through our illness. He may or may not heal us – that is up to Him to decide – but He promises not to give us more than we can handle. For you, as for me, Lyme has become a platform for making Him known to others. God bless you. 🙂

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

