lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

What meds are for what?


To answer some questions regarding the treatment plan for Lyme, you will find that good LLMD’s use combination therapy. Combination therapy is when you are given more than one antibiotic for a treatment. For example, my new treatment for 3 weeks includes 5 antibiotics. Each antibiotic does its own job. If you were to just use one of the antibiotics, it may not work or be effective.

I was thinking of writing up a list of all meds and what each one does. And then I though, OMG, the brain power I would need on this would exceed the current daily amount allowable. So this morning, guess what I see in my inbox. A newsletter from Dr. Marty Ross with the title: Kills Lyme Germs: A Brief Antibiotic Guide. He is my secret weapon. I wasn’t able to find a comprehensive list anywhere and here it is, dropped into my lap!

If you don’t know who Dr. Marty Ross is, he’s an LLMD based in Seattle, Washington. I have been attending his Webinars every week since February 2012. They are very informative, he’s a wealth of information and has helped me with billion questions that I had that I never asked of my own LLMD. He has great insights and shares his expertise based on his many years of experience with his Lyme patients. Many people whom I’ve talked to were weary of being in a webinar thinking they will be seen. That is not true. Nobody sees or hears you. You type in your question, and he answers you via live video. All you need is an internet connection. He also has a supplements store here. I bought my Meriva from there.

Here’s the low down from Dr. Marty Ross’ newsletter. As you know there are 3 forms of the Lyme germ. The Spirochete, the L-Form and the Cyst Form.

<< To see his post, click here: KILL LYME GERMS: A BRIEF ANTIBIOTIC GUIDE >>

My First Lyme Treatment (3 months)

  • Nystatin
    Anti –Fungal due to the amount of antibiotics in your system
    Prescription
  • Hydroxychloroquine / Plaquenil – (Quinine Derivatives)
    Targets:  None. Conflicting research shows could kill cyst or promote cyst growth.
    Other Action: Improves effectiveness of macrolides and tetracyclines.
    Form: Prescription
  • Azithromycin / Zithromax – (Macrolides Family)
    Targets: the spirochete and L-form
    Form: Prescription
  • Doxycycline – (Tetracycline Family)
    Targets: the spirochete and L-form
    Form: Prescription
  • Metronidazole/Flagyl – (Azoles Family)
    Targets: Spirochete (1), L-form, and cyst.
    Form: Prescription
  • Grapefruit Seed Extract (GSE)
    Targets: Cyst
    Form: Natural

My First Second Treatment (on day 14 as  I write this)

PULSE  A: for 10 days

  • Clindamycin
    Simliar to the Macrolides family of antibiotics
    Targets: the spirochete and L-form
    Form: Prescription
  • Quinine
    Antimalarial
    Form: Prescription
  • Bab2 (by Beyond Balance)
    Targets: Cyst
    Form: Natural

PULSE  B: for 10 days

  • Hydroxychloroquine / Plaquenil – (Quinine Derivatives)
    Targets:  None. Conflicting research shows could kill cyst or promote cyst growth.
    Other Action: Improves effectiveness of macrolides and tetracyclines.
    Form: Prescription
  • Tinidazole / Tindamax – (Azoles Family)
    Targets: Spirochete (1), L-form, and cyst.
    Form: Prescription from a Compounding Pharmacy
  • Clarithromycin – (Macrolides Family)
    Targets: the spirochete and L-form
    Form: Prescription

I was relatively concerned about C. Diff caused by antibiotics but after doing some research, Flagyl/Metronidazole and Tindamax/Tinidazole are drugs use to treat C. Diff. So I’m guessing that they are in each protocol for a reason other than targeting cysts. I could be wrong, so I’m not sure.

More links here on medication for Lyme and what each one does:

Here is Dr. Marty Ross’ First Guide to treating Lyme. He has a ton of other videos that discusses How to diagnose Chronic Lyme, Herxes and specific supplements and their effectiveness. His YouTube page at http://www.youtube.com/user/magiciandoc

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “What meds are for what?

  1. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. How are you feeling on Tinidazole? Does it give you nausea and make you feel terrible like the Flagyl or is it working much better for you??

  3. yes… tinidazole is soooo much easier! I will update with a new post on my progress shortly

  4. So happy for you that the Tinidazole is working for you and that you are feeling better! Love your posts 🙂

  5. jojo on said:

    interesting blog though you were diagnosed far quicker than most of us. i do find it can be somewhat misleading for those of us who are/were bedridden for over a decade… the longer and more severely ill you are the more difficult the road. you caught this very very early. good luck to you. p.s. – if you’re from toronto then how did you get to seattle? you mustn’t be very sick!

    • Hey Jojo, thanks for ur comments… no i didn’t go to seattle… i just read Dr. Marty Ross’ website…he has this info on there.

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

