lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

The Whole30® Program and the Paleo Way of Life


Ok guys, this post has been about 2 months in the making. I’m really excited to share with you about a book I bought and finally finished reading called “It Starts with Food.” by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig. How did I find it? I ran into this testimonial.


Lyme Disease

“Too sensitive to meds to bring down sugar levels in the high 300′s, and quite damaged from previous meds and 23 years of untreated Lyme disease, things just weren’t budging for me… until the Whole30. By day 10, blood sugars had dropped 150 points. Muscles that were long gone no matter what I did suddenly appeared overnight. Sleep was glorious for the first time in years and daytime energy was strong and available. I lose 10 pounds, dropped into normal sizes for shirts, and a lot of adipose fat disappeared.  And the knees that I was told were too young to replace…well, they are working beautifully. Ringing in the ears stopped, mental clarity returning…and I am hoping to ski, kayak, and bike again in the near future.”  Andrea B., Whole9 web site

“I was diagnosed with Lyme disease in October of 2009.  My symptoms were stiff neck,  headache… I hurt everywhere, I was tired all the time, I could not sleep through the night because I was in so much pain!  My doctor told me it could  6 months or more to start feeling better….  I thought to myself, I do not have 6 months to wait?  I searched the CrossFit site and found myself at the Whole30 and thought, let me try it – what do I have to lose?  Well, I had a lot to lose – like everyone of my Lyme disease symptoms (and a few pounds as well)! I started feeling better after day 3, and I just kept feeling better –  to the point of where I feel healthier now than I did before I had Lyme… as long as I stay the Whole9 course!”  Anita H., Albany, NY

“The Whole30 program has given me my life back. I was so sick when I went to Dr. Readinger (a Whole9 Nutrition Partner) – I think if I had not found him (and you) that I would have died. I owe my life to Dr. Readinger, Melissa, and Dallas. I am proof that this works, not just because I am saying it, it is clearly visible in my case. The bloated stomach is gone, my ankles are no longer the size of my thighs, my skin glows, my eyes are clear and white, even my fingernails are growing out nice and smooth! My life has changed totally since I started the Whole30 in March. The Whole9 way of eating will be a way of life for me now. This feeling of well being is euphoric!!” -Dawn B., Viroqua, W


What is Paleo?

The Paleo diet is the healthiest way you can eat because it is the ONLY nutritional approach that works with your genetics to help you stay lean, strong and energetic! Research in biology, biochemistry, Ophthalmology, Dermatology and many other disciplines indicate it is our modern diet, full of refined foods, trans fats and sugar, that is at the root of degenerative diseases such as obesity, cancer, diabetes, heart disease, Parkinson’s, Alzheimer’s, depression and infertility. – Robb Wolf

Now I do alot of research before I start to spread the word about a certain product/service. I am not endorsed or paid in anyway to do this post. I happened to stumble across their website one evening while trying to find healthy recipes. I started reading all their resources and was moved to buy their book from Amazon. 3 weeks later, I got it in the mail and read from cover to cover. This isn’t a recipe book (Although there are several recipes). If I can sum up the book in one sentence, it would be this: Everything that you have been taught growing up with regards to food has been all wrong. If you think whole homo milk is good for you and your baby, think again. I didn’t know that by eating potatoes, you might as well be eating sugar. They cover every food and discuss why and why not they are good for your body. They go in detail (and I mean down to the description of molecules) on how certain foods promote systemic inflammation. They discuss hormone imbalance, blood sugar levels, insulin resistance, in a clear and concise manner that makes you understand. They read your minds. Whatever you are thinking while reading the book, it will be addressed. Every possible avenue.

So, what is The Whole30® Program?

The Whole30 was designed by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig. It’s a challenge for you to go 30 days on a specific diet with the goal to reduce systemic inflammation brought on by 20, 30, 40 years of bad eating. If you fail, you start over from Day 1. If you visit their site , you will see thousands of people have done the Whole30 program with nothing but success. I tried to find a negative review on the Whole30 and I couldn’t. Believe me, I tried. I’m a skeptic for almost everything.

  • Melissa and Dallas Hartwig’s website
  • Whole30 Program Defined
    gives you a shopping grocery guide on what to do while on the Whole30, with Whole30 approved recipes.
  • Resources
    explains why they stand behind their research and links to many reasons why one should avoid certain foods. Answers questions as what’s the difference between grassfed and grassfinished. A great source of information.

What you CAN’T have.
Sugar of any kind, artificial or not. Legumes, dairy, grains, Alcohol, white potatoes, MSG, ingredients you can’t pronounce. You cannot go on the scale at all during the Whole30 because you want to focus on your total well being and not just weight loss. Read more here.

What you CAN have.
Real food – meat, seafood, eggs, tons of vegetables, some fruit, and plenty of good fats from fruits, oils, nuts and seeds. Eat foods with very few ingredients, all pronounceable ingredients, or better yet, no ingredients listed at all because they’re totally natural and unprocessed. Read more here.

How do I fit into all this?
As for me, I’ve been semi on this diet anyways, but lately I have been eating terrible. Just terrible. I was in agony about giving up the nightshades. Now I don’t even blink an eye when I’m faced with the Potato situation. I can avoid it. Now the hardest thing for me to give up is Rice. Because that’s what I grew up on. And Bread. We have all be trained to eat grains and grains and more grains for breakfast. The Paleo way is that you can eat your dinner for breakfast, if you want. There is no Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. It’s Meal 1, 2, and 3. It’s re-wiring your brain to look at food in a totally different way.

After 30 days, you can re-introduce food back into your diet. But will you really want to? (bad foods). They don’t like the word “cheat” in their vocab. They prefer “treat”. And by giving yourself a treat, it means enjoying every bite, and consciously thinking about it. Not aimlessly eating a pack of chips while watching TV. Everything that goes into your body is NUTRITIOUS.

So, with that said, guess what. I am going to do the Whole30. And I intend to blog on it each day. I didn’t need to convince my neighbour to do it with me. She is a health nut. She is all for it. I have talked Husband’s ear to death about this and he said he is on board, BUT his biggest challenge will be getting past the bread, the rice, the cheese. I even bought him the Innovite Yeast Buster’s Kit for Candida which he is going to start this weekend. We are doing a major cleanup here.

Now here’s the bad part. Whole9 will make you start tomorrow. And if they got their wish, yesterday. We have a busy month ahead of us with me traveling to New York to see LLMD, driving back to Toronto, then Buffalo, then hopping on a plane to Disney in Orlando for 7 days. There’s no way I can do the Whole30 while traveling because I’m not experienced enough in choosing what I can and cannot eat on this new way of eating. I need to do up a meal plan for the month. So that’s what I’m going to do between now and then. Research more Whole30 approved recipes. My goal is to start the Whole30 after thanksgiving.

This is not them or me smelling snake oil. Why do I say this? Because their program is FREE. They even give you a shopping list. They have a daily email subscription to motivate you. Everything is handed to you on a silver platter. They have many affiliates and they don’t get paid to promote them. All they want for everyone is to be HEALTHY and eat foods that don’t promote systemic inflammation.

I’ve shared with you before an app that I bought on my iPad from Nom Nom Paleo. I also follow her blog. Her photos are amazing and really inspire you cook clean. I’ve tried several recipes from her stash. There are other good resources for going Paleo which I found were most helpful.

In summary, nobody can make you do anything you don’t want to do. But the question is, do you want to be healthy? I normally find that I preach and preach and sometimes this is not good and it turns people off (especially Husband). I realize that I must lead by example. Until the person realizes on their own and wants to do something about  their situation, there really is nothing you can do. So here you go, I have provided you the information and it’s up to you what you want to do with it.

SO, WITH THAT SAID, WHO’S UP FOR THE CHALLENGE WITH ME!??

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “The Whole30® Program and the Paleo Way of Life

  1. I am with you! I am going to download the challenge and interesting in doing this. Although, I have since getting lyme cut the sugar, the white flour, and eating more vegetables and fruits instead!

  2. I’m in! :-). I’ll have to figure out when the best time to start would be. The sooner the better because the holidays are going to kill me!!

  3. AWESOME! Can’t wait! Cosmomom, are u going to blog on your progress? http://jeremyandkathleen.blogspot.ca/2012/08/the-whole-30-day-9-of-my-detox.html I found this great blog about her going through it.

  4. I’ll have to check out the book. This is what I’ve started doing [aside from “social eating” such as pizza served at a party lately ….. and that went BAD], but the book sounds great because it tells me WHY I should be doing this. Thanks so much.

  5. Pingback: Too Tired to Think of a Title | Cosmo Mom with a Twist of Lyme

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

