lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

I’m such a flippin hypocrite.


I think this has been the longest time between posts. That is because I have been running around like a chicken without a head feeling all great and then it’s all fun and games until someone loses an eye. I don’t know what precipitated the reasoning for it because it came out of nowhere. One thing that does come to mind would probably be bad eating.

I have been screaming to the hills and to anyone who would listen that food is our medicine. I was ready to embrace the Paleo way of life. However, what have I been doing? I have been eating breads, strawberry jam, spaghetti with sauce, ketchup, hotdogs, many variety of late night snacking of chips, Doritos, cheetoes, cheesies, “gluten free” brownies, all and any yeast ridden and sugary foods. It was inevitable.

OR, it could have been the germ cycle, bad karma, another lyme curve ball, whatever. Point is, you never know when it hits and that’s the stupid thing. I’m just so literally done with this. Sooooooo absolutely done.

Monday – started my Pulse A treatment. The all too familiar signals started creeping in. Cotton head, fatigue, buzzing head, heart palps. I did my usual Monday morning infrared sauna, which I think may have brought on a herx. I usually notice it getting worse as soon as I get out of the shower.

Tuesday – I was up and down all day with the majority of the day being on the couch. Cotton head again, in and out nausea, hunger, not hunger, weird stomach feeling, like a baby was moving in there. Stomach cramps, but more like menstrual cramps. I notice that symptoms come around ovulation time and according to my app, today is the day (see app below).

Wednesday – Another round of infrared, nausea-ish came throughout the day, I had to whip out the smelling concoction my neighbour made for me, something I haven’t used since May. The feeling of fullness came again, one bite into food and I would feel like gagging. 2 minutes later, I would feel hungry. Like seriously, make up your flipping mind. 5 minutes later, I would be fixed to the chair and couldn’t move because any movement would make me nauseous.  Even the sound 5 year old talking would make me nauseous. Even the sound of a stair creaking would make me nauseous.

Thursday (today) – symptoms diminishing, I see a light at the end of this god forsaken tunnel. I did the body brushing. I manage to do some grocery shopping with my mom for 2 hours in the morning, came home, made some lunch, picked up 5 year old from the bus stop and ran out again to do errands. The majority of the day was in and out cottonhead feeling again. Nausea was probably a 3 out of 10. Just did another emergency infrared in my basement tonight.

As I’m typing this, I’m much better. I hate writing when I feel like crap. Mainly because a) I feel like crap b) I don’t like writing when I feel like crap. I don’t want my posts to be like “OMG, please kill me, I’m dying here, I hate this, why me, what did I do to deserve this blah blah“. Which would scare people, especially newly diagnosed people and really, who wants to read that?

I remember when I was a Lyme newbie, I was searching endlessly on youtube (against my better judgement and warning from Lyme Buddy) and guess what the majority of videos were; people in the midst of herxes. Something very overwhelming to the youngling, wondering if their life was going to be this vast emptiness of despair and pain.

So, moving forward, whatever kind of herx I was in the past 4 days, was still some kind of herx and it did end or is ending. Not nearly as bad as my last major herx, but definitely one for the books. I would consider this my second major one. Yes people. Herxes end. They are just symptoms. I have finally got my head around this one.

As I was on the couch, I started googling (against my better judgement again), but I’m glad I did because I found this blog. lymechronicle.blogspot.ca. I mention this blog because his story is unique and very very similar if not identical to mine. We both started off as being diagnosed with Acid Reflux related issues. And guess what, we are seeing the same LLMD. And guess what, I think he lives within 15 minutes of me. So I sent him an email introducing myself and discussing my weekly woes and he confirmed with me that DIET IS KEY! And guess what again? He went Paleo! NOT a coincidence that I ran into him.

This Saturday, we make our way up to Montreal which is about a 4 hour drive. Then I see LLMD next Tuesday which is another hour out. Funny enough, I haven’t been overly anxious like I would have been in the past. I am hoping that by Saturday, this nightmare herx will be over. At least for the most part. But if it’s not, I’m not too overly concerned.

This morning in the shower, I had this peace come over me. Like I wasn’t worried about the symptoms, and the major journey that I will be taking in the next 2 weeks which involves a 14 hour drive + 6 hour flight which will end with seeing Mickey. I had this overwhelming sense of calm (in the midst of all my herxing) that I just knew God would take care of me. It’s definitely a peace that passeth all understanding.

So… what did I buy at the grocery store? Lots of fruits, nuts, dried fruit for snacks in the car. I know grains aren’t Paleo, but I did need my Ezekial 4:9 bread (at least for next week). I did a search on how to eat Paleo at Disney and there aren’t a whole whack of options so they say. But when I get back, I intend on doing a major shift in my diet.

IPAD app for the ladies: PINK PAD
I got this app about a year ago. I have been tracking all woman’s stuff on there plus all my herxes. You can see my little green “sick” icon on the days I’ve been sick this month and now there are many “happy faces” creeping back into the calendar. There’s a section for notes, weight, ovulation tracker, + a running summary and charting feature, etc. Very handy! Get Pink Pad here!

Ok that’s the end of my post for now… have a good night!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “I’m such a flippin hypocrite.

  1. It’s so nice to hear about other people’s misery!!!!!!!! I mean that in the nicest way. For 1 1/2 years, I was sick before being diagnosed. During this time, I begin to think I was loosing my marbles…….thinking maybe it was all in my head. But the pain, fatigue and the fuzzie brain didn’t go away and was so real. Finally, went to a homeopathic doc and he diagnosed me. Last month.

    So, my crazy up and down journey with this very invasive bacteria begins………

    Hope your health continues to improve. I’m trying to embrace my good days and just coast thru the bad ones………….

    Hugs and kisses!!!!!

    Alice

  2. You’re not a hypocrite. We all sometimes succumb to doing things we know we aren’t supposed to do. I have my “Aunt Flow” visiting right now and I’ve been AWFUL with sweets and starches. Maybe that’s why I haven’t posted in a while either. LOL. But, yeah. My joint pain is back (not as bad as it was before I embarked on this lifestyle). I had some pangs of nerve pain and the mental clarity I was enjoying was veiled in a thick fog the past few days. And my Raynaud’s is back with a vengeance.

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

