lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

The brighter side of the Canadian Healthcare System. Did I just say that?


I have read lots of stories about how many have had to endure financial burden to diagnose and treat Lyme. Ranging from $10,000 to $300,000 +. It’s appalling. I’ve calculated my expenses to date and in the past 6 months, I’m sure I’ve tallied now about $7,000 out of hard earned money. Guys, that’s 20 Coach bags.

But then I am reminded of how fortunate I am that I live in the land of glorious and free. Because that $7000 could have easily been much more than that.

I am great at record keeping. For the most part. If I am passionate about something and it’s important, excel is my best friend. So earlier on this year, I drew up a spreadsheet of all my doctors visits over the past 2 years. This was to keep a record of what was going on because of Lyme. I tallied about an estimated $3500 in free healthcare. Although some will argue that we pay so much taxes, it all works out. But that’s another post reserved for a financial or political blog. Both of which does not interest me.

One would normally see a doctor once a year or 2 for a checkup. Heck, there was a period in my life between the age of 17-29 where I saw NO doctor.

Fast forward to now and you can see a snapshot of my medical visits. This chart does not include Chiropractor, Naturopaths, Homeopaths, Acupuncturists, LLMD Visits, and any other appointments I had to pay out of pocket. Everything here has been covered under our Canadian Medical System. The numbers aren’t accurate either because I am not really sure the costs of consults, ct scans and all that rigamarole. I did however find this PDF through the Ontario Ministry of Health. This tells you how much Doctors, Radiologists etc are allowed to bill per service. It’s a billion pages but very interesting.

Because many have been living in Canada all their lives, we are accustomed to going to a doctor, flashing our medical card, getting free service and thinking nothing of it. We take this for granted. What! We have to pay $60 for an eye exam! The horror!  All I can say is: Perspective people! Aren’t you glad you don’t have to pay for your colonoscopy? or a mammogram? or cancer treatment?

I guess this post is really to say “Thank you Canada, that we are able to get free healthcare.”

Now, if only you can educate your Doctors on Chronic Lyme.

I apologize in advance if this post has offended some.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The brighter side of the Canadian Healthcare System. Did I just say that?

  1. With healthcare reform being such a hot topic in the U.S. it’s good to see some gratitude across the borders where it’s working. 🙂

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

