lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

My Liver Sucks.


Hello Friends! I haven’t written in a while. There are a few reasons for my absence in posting.

1) I didn’t feel worthy to post (more below)
2) Life got in the way (this is a good thing right?)
3) I didn’t have any major milestone updates
4) I have been feeling oh so much better
5) I had a few crap days and I never like to blog on those days because the tone is never right. It will just be me complaining and who wants to hear complaining.

Within the past 3 weeks, I have talked to at least 3 people who’s immediate family had been hit with cancer. It is really heartbreaking to hear these stories because really, one never knows when and if it will happen. But that is a topic for another blog post altogether. All I know is that we should be grateful for our lives and what we have. While I’m listening to these emotional trials of life from my dear friends, in the same breath, I see others who are upset because they can’t figure out what to where at a Christmas party. I feel like screaming at them and saying “AT LEAST YOU GET TO GO TO A CHRISTMAS PARTY!”  What lyme has taught me is never take anything for granted. Be thankful for what you have and make every minute count. Be humble. Don’t sweat the small stuff. I ask for a special prayer request for a friend who’s sister is going through some very deep trials in health. I think that is another reason for my lack of posting. I didn’t feel anything I had to say would have been worth much because what I am going through is absolutely nothing in comparison. My prayers go out to her.

BLOOD LABS

labs

I got my December Blood Labs back. This time, my liver enzymes are at 60. My LLMD said that they need to lower or I will be taken off meds. I was reassured by many people including my ND, and my great friend over at The Lyme Maze that an ALT of 60 is nothing to write home about however it does indicate something going on. I was sent a detox plan from my LLMD:

DETOX

  • ALA (alpha lipoic acid) 300 mg at bedtime – I bought this
  • Milk Thistle – Use an 80% Silymarin extract. Useful in supporting liver functions. Take 175 mg three times daily. You can take with antibiotics. – am already taking this
  • NAC (N-Acetyl Cysteine) 500-600 mg. 1-2 twice a day with meals may take up to 2400mg a day.(Cysteine helps synthesize glutathione, one of the body’s most important natural detoxifiers.)
  • Vitamin C 1 gram three times a day. – am already taking this
  • Drink plenty of fluids.
  • Maintain 1-3 bowel movements a day. Increase fiber (vegetables fruit whole grain) and fluids.
  • Avoid all sugar, limit processed foods. Get adequate amount of protein as this will facilitate detoxification. Eat plenty of fruit and vegetables, but limit fried and fatty foods, like cheese. (Now I have been eating many grilled cheese sandwiches lately)
  • Continue antibiotics while on the supplements (unless I instruct you to stop them which would be for an AST over 60 or ALT over 75). Repeat blood tests AST, ALT, GGTP in 1-2 weeks.
  • If your liver enzymes are still elevated after taking the detox supplements, stop all antibiotics for a week and then have a repeat lab done for liver function tests including GGTP. If blood tests are normal continue the milk thistle for 4-6 more weeks. If blood tests are not normal, then remain off antibiotics and repeat the liver function tests in 7-10 more days adding hepatitis A. B, C, serum ferritin, transferrin saturation, serum iron, antigliadin antibodies , antiendomysial Abs and tissue transglutaminase, ANA, PT, serum albumin, fasting lipid profile, TSH, free T4 and T3 blood tests.
  • There is a homeopathic trio, called the Big Three by Pekana, sold by BioResource in the US. It cleanses liver, kidneys and lymph. It has been very helpful for patients who continue to have liver or kidney function elevation. (I ordered this)

NO NOT THE DUCK EGGS!!!

I went to get a food sensitivity test at my Naturopath. This test is different than the ones where they scratch your skin. Those ones test for immediate anaphylactic allergies (IgE) where it could be a life or death situation where you would get a reaction within minutes to hours of consuming food. The test that I got (which is about $250) tests for food intolerance. It’s a basic finger prick like a test for blood sugar levels. These are considered latent allergies (IgG). Normally, the body is able to elimate these antibody-antigen complexes, but with excess antigen, small complexes tend to deposit in blood vessel walls where they can cause tissue injury via the release of inflammatory mediators. [immunobiology 5th ed Janeway CA Jr et al. New York; Garland Science:2001]

Over time, this tissue injury may contribute to the development of a variety of health conditions such as IBS and migraine headaches. So with that said, I got my results back (took about 2 weeks). And look at what I am intolerant to:

allergy1

I have been eating eggs for breakfast like they were going out of style because I am not allowed to eat anything else. So great, now I need to eliminate the eggs for at least 6 months which basically leaves me with water for breakfast.

allergy2

allergy3

My 9 month phone consult with my LLMD

I talked with my doctor this morning. With each progressive consult, I do get a little bit ansy, but I feel like I’m really talking to an old friend. I told her my overall percentage is at about an 85% back to normal (except my 5 week flares). With each flare, the symptoms are more easily managed. The worse that a flare can do to me now is just really piss me off because I can’t go shopping or something. It won’t render me in bed or anything, I just feel blah, like mope around the house and feel sorry for myself. In the past month, I remember only once saying to my husband “This is a lyme day, don’t bother me.”

She said that if I am seeing improvement (which I am), I will be kept on the same Pulse A and B for another 3 months. I had absolutely no objection to this because I am doing pretty well on it. The only thing is that I goofed. Bad. For the past 6 months, I have only been taking 2 tinidazoles a day when it should have been 4! Anyway, no harm done, I will try to ramp up as tolerated.

So she said I can continue this same treatment and then if I want, I can get off it and start the next treatment which she calls the Alinia treatment for Babesia/Protozoan infection. Alinia isn’t sold in Canada (seriously, when does this ever get easy?) so I have to order it from the states and get them to ship it to a pharmacy in the US. Buffalo is about 2 hours from me, so that’s where I might need to go. Maybe I can throw in a weekend at Great Wolf Lodge while we are there.

When I start that treatment, I’ll let you know, right now there’s so much reading I have to do on that, and I have been procrastinating. I do know that it also involves a major diet change of low a fat Vegan diet (South Beach Diet or McDougall Diet). The reason for this is because the buggers like fat or something.

Anyway, my consults with her are bitter sweet. I love seeing what the next steps are and where to go from there, but after the chat, I have to do this.

kill

I hate pill counting. I can’t believe I still remember how to do long division. The only reason I did this was because I was too lazy to get my butt off the chair to get my calculator. In the beginning of treatment, I was all into the excel spreadsheets counting each pill and making sure that I had enough. If you have been following my blog, my earlier posts were very much like that. Now it’s like, Meh. So I had to call the pharmacy to ask how many pills I had left for refill. Oh ya, and just to add more crap to the mix, my insurance is cancelled on December 31. The reason is because they didn’t have enough members on the plan. I am not sure if I will find another private insurance. There isn’t much need for me to get one just for Chiro and ND Visits. And when I really think about it, the meds cost were the least of my issues.

So that’s it in a nutshell. I’m feeling very optimistic right now and I’m looking forward to the new year and what it has to bring. I will keep you posted on how the double dose of the tinidazole goes. If I don’t post in the next while, I wish you all a safe Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “My Liver Sucks.

  1. I had been meaning to email you to see how you were since I hadn’t seen any updates in a while!

    That is CRAZY about your food sensitivity results! I have been wanting to do that test. How are you otherwise? How is work?

    Sent from my iPhone

    • yes you should def get the food allergy test! I got hubby to get one. Well worth the money! Work is same old! You will be surprised at how many things your body can’t tolerate. What I have shown above is just a glimpse. It covers all major food groups.

  2. I have developed food sensitivities too. Mine are mostly around eggs, yeast and wheat. I struggle with breakfast! I’ve started just eating left overs from the previous night, kept in tupperware in the fridge and then microwaved to death. Or fruit. But I’m trying to limit my fruit intake to only 2 or 3 a day because of the sugar content, nightmare!

  3. Candace Taplay on said:

    iim just catching up…lol so that dose that your doing wrong is that me too?

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

