lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

My Green Monster


I’ve seen this documentary advertised sometime last year on Netflix and have been meaning to watch it and finally, I sat down and searched Netflix and of course, big surprise, it isn’t available in Canada. The documentary is called Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead.

I was completely moved by it. Before I was researching on my Blendtec Blender, I was considering a juicer. What discouraged me from getting a juicer was because of the amount of produce and veggies that you need to have in order to make just one cup. And the work involved. Cuz I’m lazy.

Before watching this documentary, I considered it again and did some more research. Then I watched the documentary. After watching it, I got on my computer and looked for a juicer. I didn’t want to purchase one too hastily, so I let the thought marinade in my head for another week and then I saw a sale for the Breville 5 Speed Juicer on sale for $249 ($40 off) with free shipping. I purchased it immediately. Yes it’s a bit pricy, but it’s well worth it. And I love it. It’s a Centrifugal Juicer, not a Masticating Juicer. You can read the pros and cons of each here.

It’s not hard to use at all. I had no idea how to juice, or what to do, I  just watched the documentary, read the manual, found some recipes online, went to the grocery store and bob’s your uncle.

breville

Why I wanted to Juice.

  • Juicing (80% green veggies, 20% fruits). You absorb all the nutrients from these fruits and vegetables in one single cup. As you can see from the picture below, there’s no way I would eat all that in a day.
  • My neighbour has been raving about it for a year and she is a living testimony of how effective it is.
  • My other neighbour mentioned to me that she knew a woman with lung cancer, got treatment, started to juice and the cancer is not there anymore.
  • Watching the documentary solidified (for me) the importance of juicing.
  • I want to get really healthy. Not to lose the weight but for nutritional purposes.
  • We are what we eat!
  • http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2011/11/13/benefits-of-juicing.aspx

05

What the juicer does.
Some may wonder if the Juicer is the same as a Blender. A juicer extracts the juice from fruits and vegetables. A blender liquifies and emulsifies ingredients. For more on the difference, read this great post here.

What I made.
This was my first juice. I used some celery, carrots, a couple apples, and thumb of ginger. I had no lemon. So it didn’t taste particularly great. So I made a mental note to purchase some lemons the next time to balance the ginger.

Many people advocate that you should buy organic because of the pesticides. However right now, we are in the middle of winter with -5 degree weather so I won’t be finding any local vegetables and produce here so I’ll have to make do.

01

My Green Monster

{makes about 2.5 glasses}

  • Handful of Spinach
  • 3 Leaves of Kale
  • 3 Stalks of Celery
  • 3 Carrots
  • 2 Granny Smith Apples
  • 1 Red Gala Apple
  • Half a Cucumber
  • Half a Lemon (a must!)
  • Thumb of Ginger

Tastes Flipping Fantastic. The ginger really gives it a kick. I drink one cup immediately, give another half to 5 year old (with a tea spoon of honey and he loves it) and throw the rest into an air tight mason jar into the fridge. This needs to be consumed within the day because it will oxidize and lose nutrients. What to do with the rest of the fiber? I compost it. There isn’t a whole lot. Some use it to bake muffins or something, but I find that a little gross.

03

02


Negativity

I searched for negative reviews on juicing. And of course, there are naysayers. One particular article here, I can rebut almost all points. These points appear in almost all negative aspects of juicing. You can read more on the points in that article. While they are legitimate arguments, common sense wins every time. Here are my opinions on their points.

Expense
Yes it’s expensive, but I would rather pay $249 rather than $10,000+ on medical care (as I have).

Disinfection and Cleanup
It’s no different than cleaning and disinfecting your bathroom. Or cleaning your baby’s diaper. How lazy can can one be on their own health.

Microbes
Buy from local farms and well known sources, and wash your vegetables and fruits well.

Loss of Fiber
Who cares. I would risk the loss of fiber to gain the nutrients from juicing and get the fiber somewhere else. Duh!

Lack of Convenience
Unfortunately, our world has become fast paced. We need to stop and smell the roses. I say this because I was there. It’s all in priorities. The 15 minutes it takes to juice is the same 15 minutes you spent looking at someone’s facebook page.


04

My tips on juicing

  • Organization is key. Have all your vegetables prepared and ready to go.
  • Clean and wash whatever is in your sink and put it away. Have a clean countertop.
  • It is a bit of a clean up, but as the documentary says, No Pain, No Gain. Deal with the washing!
  • You need to wash the filter immediately or else the fiber will get hard and stuck and you will cry when you try to wash it.
  • Some vegetables I prep for the next day, like peeling carrots and cutting up celery. Then store it in a glass airtight container and store in fridge

After my first juicing experience, I noticed a boost in energy within half an hour. My mind was telling me to take a nap, but my body wasn’t letting me. Each time gets better and better. I now drink 2 glasses a day and will be incorporating this into my lifestyle.


Juicing for Lyme

Here are some great blogs on those who juiced because they had Lyme.


My Final Comments

I hope this blog post inspires you to start juicing! I’m only a week into it and it’s been really great. I can’t wait to see the results after a year!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “My Green Monster

  1. I have been “thinking” a lot about juicing and blending and I did some of both last year, but just wasn’t up to the task of keeping to it and having all the produce in the house. I see my LLND next week and it’s on my list to ask about as I’m not sure if I can have almond milk or coconut water and she does not want me eating citrus, tomatoes or other “nightshade” foods. I already have an amylose-free diet and am looking forward to changing it up now thanks to your blog. I have a juicer that I did not spend much money on and it works well, but the clean up takes longer. My blender of 30 years really needs to be replaced, so maybe that’s what I will do. Thanks for another great blog.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Morning Green | Cocoa Flower Style

  3. Pingback: I’m juicing! |

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

