lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

Butternut Squash Soup


I have now been without symptoms for about a month. Well, I’ll be honest, more like 95% good with 5% symptom annoyances. Which isn’t too bad right? But I need to be 110%. I need to be completely rid of it.

I knew it was not a question of IF, but a question of WHEN. When will my next herx come. According to my little iPad chart, it should be coming anytime. I was waiting patiently, and embracing for the worst. But just like the weather channel warning us to the hills about snowstorms, it never came and I forgot about it and moved on.

And just like unpredictable weather, it did come. This morning. Not that terrible mind you, but I felt icky. After breakfast, I had my usual hungry but barf feeling, the shot of scotch buzzed feeling in my head. The need to lie down immediately. Got a little worse after I did a 30 minute sauna. I had a shower. Then I ate a banana. Then all was well.

That herx my friends, lasted a whole 1.5 hours. A big difference than my usual week long herxes. I won’t lie, it is still coming in and out as I type this. But it’s a better herx.

So I think I’m getting there. I’m still juicing every day and loving it. In the meantime, in this winter weather, this is my favourite go to recipe which I made this morning. Perfect for what I was feeling this morning. Tasty and hearty. Super simple and easy to make. Enjoy!

Butternut Squash Soup

  • 1 Butternut Squash
  • 2 Sweet Potatotes
  • 2 Stalks of Celery
  • 2 Carrots
  • 1 Onion
  • Chicken Broth
  • Some butter
  1. In a medium size pot, make your chicken broth. I used the organic chicken bouillon cubes. Bring to a boil and turn off.
  2. Dice up sweet potatoes, celery, carrots, onions and butternut squash. The butternut squash is very hard to cut, so I had to use my mom’s Chinese meat cleaver and pray very hard that I didn’t end up in the ER with missing fingers.
  3. Melt some butter in another large pot.
  4. Throw in the onions, carrots, and celery and sautee for 5 minutes until a little brown.
  5. Throw in the sweet potatoes and butternut squash.
  6. Pour the chicken stock into the pot until it covers all the stuff.
  7. Bring down to a simmer and let it cook for 40 minutes and turn off to let it cool down.
  8. Get out your blender! Don’t overcrowd the blender, do it in 3 stages. I use a ladle with holes so that I can control the amount of liquid that gets into the blender. You don’t want your soup watery. First, ladle out the veggies only into the blender. Then, get a regular spoon ladle and ladle out 2 spoons of chicken stock into blender. Then blend! Do this again 2 more times. The Blendtec Blender I have is pure awesomeness. The final result was like whipped cream almost.
  9. ENJOY!

01

Use 2 ladles. One with holes, one without. Don’t make your soup too watery.

02

Be careful not to do this while the soup is still piping hot. Let it cool down for about an hour.

03

04

05

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Jessie on said:

    Hi Lymed Out. Wondering how long you were in tinidazole? And how long before you started feeling better? I’ve been taking Tindy for almost 3 months. Just added Bactrim, Feelig a little better but not seeming major improvement. Thanks in advance for sharing! How awesome that your herxes are almost nil!! Gives me hope.

    • Hey jesse. I have been on tinidazole for about 9 months. But im pulsing 10 days on and 10 days off. I think its the combination that my llmd has me on is whats working. Check out my treatment at the top it will list all my meds. I started feeling better after 4-5 months of treatment.

      That is why i blog, to give hope! I wont lie, this herx is still here now this morning, but it shall pass. Just gotta wait it out.

  2. Jessie on said:

    Thanks. I take it everyday. I’m terrible about noting how I feel each day. I think I’m having more better days. I’ll keep checking in. Hope you are nearing the end of this disease!

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

