lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

If it has a face, you can’t eat it.


This was the answer that my good vegetarian friend had told me once when I asked her what she eats.

So guess what. I can’t eat anything with a face now either. Oh, it can’t be that bad. Oh but yes, it can. I have been ordered to go Vegan. And fat free. For 120 days. Do you know what this means to a person who has been trying out the paleo diet for the past 6 months? It’s a total reversal of everything that I have been doing.

Now, before the haters start hating, I have nothing against vegetarianism or veganism. I just feel like I’m being bounced around like a yoyo and this nightmare will never end. I was just becoming fairly comfortable with minimizing my grains, eating healthy fats and spending oodles of money for grass fed meat which now will sit in my freezer until July.

So why this diet? It’s my new Lyme treatment which I have started last week. It involves the drug that cannot be mentioned or else I will start to get really angry, along with a long list of new herbal supplements and the like. Alot of tincture drops and my pill box doesn’t have enough slots per hour.

ughh

How is it going? Well, I have been UNhappily herxing for 6 days straight. On family day, we went to a restaurant with the in-laws and nieces and nephews, and being on this new vegan diet, I wasn’t in the mood for salad, so I asked the waitress if I could just get a bunch of sides which was basically bland rice, mashed potatoes and soggy vegetables. She looked at me like I was smoking some bad crack and I didn’t even bother explaining. About halfway through, I had to bail and drive home because I felt like I was going to faint.

I haven’t really done any research on vegan food and I have totally left this to the last minute which is totally not me. I think I’m in denial that I can’t eat meat but today was the straw that broke the camel’s back. I think I’ve had just about enough of eating water and bread so I’ve spent the past day looking up recipes and enlisting help from friends who were vegetarians.

Other than that, my appetite has been kinda shot for the past week. I don’t feel like eating. I am pretty sure it’s my herx because that’s what happens when it comes. I have this odd feeling of barf and then I get ravenously hungry and then I look in the fridge and I want to cry. I am not really worried about 6 year old because he apparently hates meat because when I cook it, he would be walking to the garbage can every other bite to spit out the chicken or steak.

My husband is pretty cool and the other day he came home with vegetarian samosas. They were undoubtedly deep fried, but right now who cares. I am still juicing every day. These herxes are coming in waves, coinciding with Mother Nature’s monthly unwelcomed visitor which is making everything feel worse x 100. My brain feels like mush and then it feels fine, and then it feels like I’m drunk and then I’m normal, and then I will feel a shooting pain in my head and then my left arm can’t even lift a shopping bag.

Am I home bound? No. I still go and do stuff but it’s annoying because this new treatment requires me drinking the herbal stuff and I will be damned if I have to carry these bottles and shot glasses everywhere I go.

It has been 1 year since I was officially diagnosed with Lyme. I have been in treatment for about  11 months. January 2013 has been the best that I ever felt. Nearing about 90% back to my old self. With my last phone call with my doc, I was given the option to continue the same course of treatment or to start the new treatment. I decided to start the new one because I have been doing the same thing for almost 9 months. Switching up has definitely produced my recent herxes which means the damned buggers are still having little parties in my body.

In other news, our basement has finally finished the big reno after 1 year. December 2012 had me pretty much painting the whole sordid thing against my doc’s orders, but I wasn’t ready to pay $2000 to someone for a job I can do myself.

bathroom

This is a shot of my sauna on the left and the new bathroom on the right. I still use it every other day for detox. It’s kind of funny how I designed the basement around this sauna, but I’m glad I did, it’s a mini spa. And when I’m done, I can literally jump into that awesome shower!

Hope you are all doing well, this is just a little update on how I’m doing, hopefully next post, I won’t be in such a terrible funk. If any of you have some good resources on vegan recipes, do share!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “If it has a face, you can’t eat it.

  1. I hear you. Doing Vegan is hard to start. Oatmeal with blueberries and walnuts. Yum! Hash browns and salsa. Fruit, fruit and more fruit. Almond milk with pumpkin seed granola. Baked potatoes and peanut sauce or salsa. Got to get a juicer. Mean green juice. One of my favorites is strawberry shortcake made with almond flour and coconut oil. Treating lyme is such a challenge and then changing diets makes it really hard. My brain is tired right now but as I remember some of the staples I will write more. Best wishes!

    • thanks for the tips! I do the juicing and the mean green every day. I am also limited and can’t eat fats. so no peanut butter or nuts either i think… FRICK!

  2. If you are able to eat fruit, lucky you! I was a vegetarian before lyme, now I have to be vegan, but with bone marrow soup, of course! It’s a big struggle for me too, and most of what I have to eat makes me gag. But, I started at the following link and found some tummy-pleasing recipes that really help make life bearable. Be well! http://pinterest.com/carrielovesbron/no-dairy-no-sugar-no-gluten-recipes/

    • I was wondering if I can have bone marrow because i can’t live without my bone broth! but seeing that it’s bones of a beef, I dunno if I’m allowed. It’s also the fat content.

  3. Pingback: Day 1, Cycle 1 of the 17 Day Diet-Vegetarian Style | Peanut Jelly Sandwich

  4. If you don’t mind my asking, why were you ordered to go vegan? My Lyme doc supports a Paleo/Primal diet, so I am wondering why your doc thinks meat is bad. There is so much conflicting information, so I am just trying to learn all I can.

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

