lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

Some Drama. And oh ya, I met Dr. Murakami!


How are you all? Thought I’d update you on my life as I have been a bit MIA. Here’s a snapshot of my past month.


The Ophthalmologist
I forgot to mention to you on my last post that I finally went to see the Ophthalmologist after about a 6 month wait about those white flashes on the bottom of my left eye. And this happened again. Although worse. And I’m not lying. Like see those metal clamp things? It was like that but they were cylinders that were actually ON TOP of my eyes. Like TOUCHING my eyeballs. I can’t even begin to explain it.

Prior to that, I needed to have my eyes completely dilated. Like I’m pretty sure he poured the whole bottle into my eyes. And when I say completely, I mean that I kind of looked like satan. You know in those vampire shows where the pupil is all black? That. I remember an old episode of The Simpsons where Mr. Burns has a similar situation and Homer thinks he’s encountered an Alien.

Thank goodness that I had my pupils dilated before and I knew the drill because this Ophthalmologist failed to tell me that a) I needed a driver to drive me home and b) that if I didn’t have my sunglasses with me (which I didn’t), I might as well have been 10 feet away walking towards the sun. If you have ever had your pupils dilated, you will know what I mean. And yes, my husband was with me and I snatched the sunglasses off his head before he even knew what hit him.

I didn’t even want to mention the whole Lyme thing to the Ophthalmologist, but it was in my file and my concern was that Plaquenil might have been the cause, and I’ve been off that med now for 3 months, so it can’t possibly be that. He asked me where I think I got Lyme, and I mumbled that I vacationed in Myrtle Beach in an RV a couple years ago, and really I can’t be sure, it could have been in my backyard, and he seemed as interested in the conversation as my 6 year old in the theory of evolution so I left it at that and didn’t bother going any further. I actually really hate talking about it now with doctors. It’s such a complete waste of my time.

Anyway, after he took that contraption out of my eyes, he said it wasn’t Plaquenil and that it was “retinaerhweerwe“. See, I just made up that word. I don’t even know what he said, except it has to do with a retina tear and that if I happen to go blind in my left eye, to go to the ER pronto where they will do emergency surgery. I asked if this was common and he said yes, for near sighted people and he sees about 3 a day. Yay. Great. He wants to see me in 3 months to check again to make sure everything is nice and square, so that’s that.


Mother’s Day
I really wanted to do this:

321481_460333794040664_91603920_n

But I didn’t. I was unfortunately, woken up at 6:42 am with pitter pattering feet who was so excited for me to open up my Mother’s Day gift. When I mumbled, “please give me 5 minutes”, he stomped out of my room all disappointed. And then I felt guilty and said, “Ok! come back, let me open it!”. And it was a handmade beaded bracelet and all was well in his world.

I went downstairs one hour later to find that hubby had cooked up a storm of gluten filled pancakes with real Canadian maple syrup, fat infested bacon, and grease filled hash browns with a heaping side of ketchup and I gorged on it all with a huge smile on my face.

We went to church after and then met up with his entire family for another healthy lunch at The Mandarin. (I’m being sarcastic.) If you don’t know what The Mandarin is, it’s fake Chinese food at an all you can eat buffet. I’m sure you know how that goes. Now, I’ve grown up with Chinese food, so I can say this. I was already having hesitations about going here for lunch because there was a possible movie with other friends AFTER the buffet and I didn’t want to be trapped in a theatre with a rumbling stomach if you know what I mean. So I was VERY cautious in my selection of food.

So we all get our food and as I am literally about to shove some rice in my mouth, my husband whispers to me:

Husband: Hey, I was just in the washroom and I saw this heap of clothes on the floor.
Me: Huh?
Husband: But it wasn’t a heap of clothes. It was a guy kneeling on the floor. Inside the stall.
Me: What does that mean?
Husband: I dunno!?
Me: Was he puking? WHY ARE YOU TELLING ME THIS NOW!!!@#$%^ OMG!
Husband: The stall was closed so I’m assuming. Maybe he was praying.
Me: Who the hell prays in the toilet?
Husband: Wait. Which way is North?

His nephew was eavesdropping and now join the conversation.

Nephew: They pray to the East.
Husband: (Trying to get his navigational bearings) Yes! He was facing East!

I text my friend about the situation.

Me: Hey, when do people pray to Mecca?
Friend: Noon. Why?
Me: Nevermind. ttyl.

Half an hour later, my nephew comes back and tells us that the guy is still kneeling, except it was a kid with red hair and freckles.

So. That was the most expensive spoonful of rice and 2 pieces of sushi’s I ever ate in my life. About $25.

We did end up seeing Iron Man 3 right after and thank the heavens I wasn’t kneeling beside a toilet.


The Day after Mother’s Day
So one night, 6 year old goes and picks out this book to read. His face says it all. He thoroughly enjoyed it.

944159_465205936889677_494908889_n

I posted this pic on my FB. A friend of mine says, “Hey! That reminds me of a book called ‘How to Poo at work‘”. So of course, curiosity gets the better of me and I decide to look this up on my iPhone. It takes me to this page. Funny. Huh?

The next day, I needed to go to the Apple store because my phone’s battery has been flaky so the Apple guy runs some diagnostics. He opens up Safari and gives me this really strange stare. I forgot that the stupid Amazon page was still opened.

YA.


I met Dr. Murakami!
Kevin from www.lymesavers.ca organized a lecture where Dr. Murakami came to speak. Dr. Murakami is such a humble man and I was so glad to attend and listen. He is also quite the comic and my husband and I really enjoyed that night. I also got to meet some other folks within the Lyme community as well as had a great chat with Marlene from meerkatmarlene.blogspot.ca a lovely woman who does SO MUCH for the Lyme community.

drm

drm2


How am I doing?
Pretty fantastic! I had a little few days of ickyness during Aunt Flo which is to be expected. At my last LLMD’s appt, she said something to the effect like “when all you feel are small symptoms during that time of month, it’s all good”, so I think I’m getting there! I haven’t had any major symptoms at all for about a month. As for the vegan thing, I really couldn’t do it. I am “trying” to do low fat that’s about all. I have been very terrible with food. Husband also got me a dozen Red Velvet cake pops for Mother’s Day. I only have 5 left. And Mother’s Day was yesterday.

I also hit a major milestone. I finally finished a painting that I have been working on for the past 6 months. Here it is!

roy_11

Last but not least, in my last post, I mentioned that I started a forum. Sometimes it takes a while for these things to go, so if you have anything to share, please do so!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Some Drama. And oh ya, I met Dr. Murakami!

  1. Thanks for the post! Let’s hope we all get relief from all the things we are dealing with. It was so nice to meet you and your husband and to chat a while! Just did a blog post myself, trying to catch up with everything …. http://meerkatmarlene.blogspot.ca/2013/05/a-week-of-lyme-disease-awareness-events.html

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

