lymed out

my quest to getting these suckas out!

After you read this post, you will drive yourself to the nut house.


Sept 11 was my 4th LLMD appointment. I see her every 6 months. She is a 5.5 hour drive from me. We left at 8:30 pm because my husband had to work. At about 2:00 am when we crossed the border into the USA, this happened.

photo 1

No, that is not the eye of Terminator, that is a cop. He said we were doing a 65 in a 35 zone. I am not sure what this means because I speak in kilometres. Moreover, it was 2 am, pitch black, country road, no signs anywhere. We played the foreigners game and he let us go.

We arrive at the hotel at 2:30 am. 6 year old loves staying at hotels and woke us up at 6:30 am because he was all excited. YAY.

I twiddled my thumbs until 10:15 am because my appointment was at 10:30 am. I later found out that my appointment was actually 10:00. I wasn’t aware the new policy that you have a PRE-appointment with a nurse. YAY.

It’s a 2 minute drive from the hotel to my doctors office, so that was the only thing easy about this day. I can sum up the appointment into 2 sentences.

I basically told her that I need something that will kick me in the pants for the last and final time and drive these mother !@#$%$^^ out of my body so that I can live in peace and lead a normal life. She is having me stay on the same treatment (Alinia, Artemesinin, Bab2)  but will adding 2 other antibiotics into the mix. Namely Malarone (never taken it) and Zithromax (which I was on last year).

Here is where it gets fun.

First of all, I will have to go and get Alinia AGAIN. I simply have no words. Here are my Alinia adventures here, here, here, and here.

Now my Malarone adventure beings here.

I leave her office with the 3 prescriptions in hand. Alinia, Zithromax, and Malarone. The receptionist gave me some discount cards which can be used at pharmacies.

Mission: Acquire the 140 pills of Malarone.

DRIVE TO TARGET
They don’t have Alinia, they don’t have Zithromax, but they do have Malarone (only 49 pills).

DRIVE BACK TO HOTEL TO PICK UP HUSBAND AND CHILD AND CHECK OUT

DRIVE TO WALGREENS
They have Alinia, they have Zithromax, they have Malarone. YAY
Pharmacist: Maam, your total for all these will be $5,490
Me: UM, Hang on, let me clean the wax out of my ears. COME AGAIN????
It turns out the Alinia was $4000.
Me: NO THANK YOU SIR! I will go back to my computer and buy it online and go through customs and curse all day. BUT I will take the Malarone and Zithromax for the cheap price of $900.
Pharmacist:  Great! Let me check if we have them in stock
Me: UGHHH
Pharmacist: Oh, sorry we only have 72 pills of Malarone.
Me: Target has 49. Can you guys somehow make it so that I can get this?
Pharmacist: Yes, here’s the RX number, go and call Target and give them this and we will transfer them the files. Come back in 25 minutes and pick up your meds.
Me: Great. Thanks

I call Target. No answer. I get back in the car with Husband and Child and say to hell with it, we are driving back to Target. But wait! Lets check out Kmart and Walmart first.

DRIVE TO KMART
Me: Hi how much Malarone do you have in stock?
Pharmacist: 8 pills and we don’t have the generic.
Me: Thank you. Bye

DRIVE TO WALMART
Me: Hi how much Malarone do you have in stock?
Rep: Honey you are in the wrong line, you have to go over there.
Me: OMG SOMEONE SHOOT ME PLEASE?
Pharmacist: we have 15 pills
Me: Thank you. Bye

DRIVE BACK TO TARGET
Me: Hi, I was just here and went to Walgreens. They have 72. Can I get the other 49 from you?
Pharmacist: No sorry we don’t that.
Me: Walgreens says you can. Here’s the RX number
Pharmacist: Oh ok, then. Come back by 1:30, because we close for lunch and won’t open until 2:00 PM.
I look at my watch. It’s 1:12.

AT THIS POINT, I AM READY TO COMMIT MURDER.
If my math is correct, my presciption for Malarone is 140. Target has 49, Walgreens has 72 which only equals 121. LIGHTBULB! Walmart has 15!

DRIVE BACK TO WALMART
ME: Hi again. (with a super fake smile). Can I please get the 15 Malarone pills you have? Here is the RX number. Thank you and goodbye.

DRIVE BACK TO WALGREENS
Made it! Picked up the 72 pills
Husband: OMG YOU FINALLY HAVE SOMETHING IN YOUR HAND!
Child: MOMMY! WE HAVE BEEN DRIVING IN CIRCLES FOR 2 HOURS, IM HUNGRY WAAAAAA!

DRIVE BACK TO TARGET AT 1:29 pm
Made it! Picked up the 49 pills

DRIVE BACK TO WALMART
Made it! Picked up the 15 pills

Still short 4 pills. Do you think I care? HELL NO!!!!!!! And here’s the cost of this week’s episode of the Amazing Race.

WALGREENS
Zithromax: $612.43 (with discount)$ 497.37 = $3.55 / pill
Malarone: $444.69 (with discount) $238.57 = $3.31 / pill

WALMART
Malarone: $87.08 (NO discount) = $5.80 / pill

TARGET
Malarone: $359.27 (NO discount) = $7.33 / pill

Total Spent on Doc and Meds: 1618.59
Hotel: $80
Food: $50
Gas: $120
Sanity: Priceless

Now, can someone please send me a medal?

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “After you read this post, you will drive yourself to the nut house.

  1. Wow, I honestly don’t know how you do it. I can’t eve imagine. Love you!!

  2. Hey lymedout… I know your experiences are truly frustrating, but I love the way you blog about them… they keep me laughing and feeling some levity in my own battle with lyme… I mean, if you don’t laugh at least some of the time about this crazy ride, you’ll cry all the time, right? BTW, I think we might actually be seeing the same LLMD… sounds like the same appointment format, distance from hotel to office, a lot of the same abx’s. I have been to her office 3 times, my 4th appointment is in December… and I think my Alinia headaches are due to start then!

  3. What a nightmare! I hope you have all the meds to kick it to the curb. What we have to go through to get well. I get the same run around with Mepron, they never have enough in stock. Thanks for making me laugh though 😉 And I agree with you, those of us that fight this battle deserve medals, complete with an award ceremony!

  4. Wow! I am exhausted thinking about you typing all that out.

  5. I order my daughter’s drugs through CanadaDrug.com. They will fill NY prescriptions with Canadian-made abx and deliver them to your house. I tried purchasing from drug stores in the US a couple of times while I was over there, but the cost was phenomenal. CanadaDrugs is a lot cheaper.

Foggy brain or not, I would love to hear from you!

